Diana Kienast

Born in Vienna, Austria, as a descendent of the eighteenth-century musicians family von Benda, Diana Kienast’s interest in theatre and music began to arise early. After studies of art, history and languages at the Universities of Vienna and Madrid, she eventually decided to focus on opera. After some internships she was engaged as an assistant director at the Vienna Volksoper and from there was called in the same position to the Vienna State Opera four years later.  Since 1991 she was leading the scenic department of the Vienna State Opera.

In addition to her assistantships, she oversaw the repertoire performances with a continuing effort to maintain the artistic level in the scenic area as high as possible. Diana Kienast was responsible for numerous new productions, revivals and occasional acquisitions of productions from other houses.

Her responsibilities included not only the scenic rehearsals, the preparation of roles with young singers, recitative and dialogue coaching, the constant and intense communication with the technical departments of the house and lighting, as well as with the costume designers and the make-up, but also the scenic supervision of numerous guest appearances (Japan, China, Italy, Oman, etc.) and the direction of conferred productions (Tokyo: “L ‘Italiana in Algeri”, “Don Giovanni”, Athens: “L’ Italiana in Algeri”). She also taught the subject “scenic design” at the Opera School.

Diana Kienast has collaborated with well-known directors such as Otto Schenk, Jean Pierre Ponnelle, Giorgio Strehler, Götz Friedrich, Ruth Berghaus, Pierre Luigi Pizzi, Johannes Schaaf, Alfred Kirchner, Peter Wood, Antoine Vitez, Istvan Szabo, Giancarlo Menotti, Ken Russell, Luca Ronconi, Harold Prince, Leopold Lindtberg, Jürgen Flimm, August Everding, and many others; as well as with conductors such as e.g. Erich Leinsdorf, Ernst Märzendorfer, Christoph von Dohnany, Zubin Meta, Heinrich Hollreiser, Leopold Hager, Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Muti, Donald Runnicles, Bertrand de Billy, et al.

Own directings at the Vienna State Opera

„The Magic Flute for Children“, 2003
Opening of the Vienna Opera Ball, 2006
„Bastien und Bastienne“, 2006
Open Day Vienna State Opera, 2007

Other directings

„The Fall of The House of Usher“, Vienna Chamber Opera
“Le nozze di Figaro”, Vienna Chamber Opera
„Il Viaggio a Reims“, Berliner Philharmonie
„Die Fledermaus“, 2nd act with guests, Opening Vienna Festival
„Die Fledermaus“, Staatsoper Temesvar
„Fledermaus Gala“, Accademia di Santa Cecilia, Rom
“The Magic Flute for Children”, San Francisco, Yokohama
“The Magic Flute”, Tel Aviv
„Die Merry Widow“: arrangement of the libretto, e.g. for the German TV-station „mdr“, et. al.

Diana Kienast retired from the Vienna State Opera in November 2013 and is now working as a freelance stage director, teacher and coach.

Recipient of the Decoration of Merit in Gold of the Republic of Austria

Critics

L’italiana in Algeri (WA)

“[…] But one must say that obviously the preparation for repertoire-series is done very well at the house: four of the seven performers interpret in Vienna for the first time […] and all have been perfectly introduced to the staging so that it has not lost any of its not at all easy structure of strange body language: probably one should once again praise Diana Kienast as the director, to let the people “behind the scenes” know that one knows their part in the success of such an evening. […]” – Der Neue Merker, Renate Wagner

Bastien and Bastienne

“[…] A sleek American cars drives up, gift packages roll around on stage, and later sheep will hop around here, butterflies flutter, glitterfish glide and monsters open their jaws – in the new production of Mozart’s Singspiel “Bastien and Bastienne”, Diana Kienast (director) and Dietrich von Grebmer (stage setting ) did not skimp on ideas. […] Kienast manages the connection of fairytale and zeitgeisty elements.” – Die Presse

The Fall of the House of Usher

“[…] because the director Diana Kienast has dropped any narrative ballast, she lays out each scenic action – […] as a shadow play of emotions. Atmosphere is all, action nothing in this chamber of horrors of emotions […] Diana Kienast has fully embarked on the music by Philip Glass which flows from the orchestra pit like bitter sweet poison of doom. With minimal, however intense images she has scenically doubled the enervating sound once more. […]” – Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Wolfgang Sandner, 08.10.1990

“[…] The „studio K“-production is a coup, successful right down to the last detail. Director Diana Kienast ensured a profound guidance of people and continuous suspense, skilfully avoids any cheap and lurid effect (incest) in this gruesome musical theatre. […] “The Fall of the House of Usher” is definitely one of the most successful “studio K”-productions that has ever existed in the chamber opera. […]” – Wiener Zeitung, H.G. Pribil, 29.09.1990

The Journey to Reims

“[…] Diana Kienast directs with spare means in the most loving, most graceful way of directing, and this quite excellently: easy, without any hint of directorial pomposity, funny and entertaining. The audience is full of happiness. This is how you honour Rossini in the most appropriate way. […]” – Berliner Morgenpost, Klaus Geitel, 16.10.1992

“[…] But here a servant fell on the harpsichordist and kissed him subito and fortissimo the forehead moist, and the production team (Diana Kienast, Rolf Long Barrel, John Burgess) actually succeeded in attuning the soloists and the Rundfunkchor Berlin to those palpabilities of the Commedia dell’arte-game that repeatedly animated the evening in a funny way. […]” – Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung – Wolfgang Burde

Languages: German, English, Italian and Spanish

For request concerning direction, scenic design, coachings for auditions, dialogue (German), recitatives (Italian), interpretation and role-making, please contact:

Fanny Jacobson, BA MAS
office@manocornuta.net

Diana mit Wellen _website

Diana Kienast

Geboren in Wien, Österreich, aus der aus dem 18. Jahrhundert stammenden Musikerfamilie von Benda, begann sich Diana Kienast bereits in frühen Jahren für Theater und Musik zu interessieren. Nach dem Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Sprachen an den Universitäten Wien und Madrid, widmete sie sich der Opernregie. Nach einigen Praktika wurde sie als Regieassistentin an der Volksoper Wien engagiert und von dort aus vier Jahre später in der gleichen Position an die Wiener Staatsoper geholt. 1991 übernahm sie die Oberspielleitung der Wiener Staatsoper.

Neben der Assistenztätigkeit betreute Diana Kienast die Repertoirevorstellungen mit dem ständigen Bestreben das künstlerische Niveau im szenischen Bereich möglichst hoch zu halten. Sie verantwortete zahlreiche Neueinstudierungen, Wiederaufnahmen und gelegentliche Übernahmen von Produktionen aus anderen Häusern.

Ihr Aufgabenbereich umfasste neben den szenischen Proben auch die Rollenvorbereitung mit jungen Sängern, Rezitativ- und Dialogcoaching, die stete und intensive Kommunikation mit den technischen Abteilungen des Hauses und der Beleuchtung, sowie mit dem Köstumwesen und der Maske, ferner auch die szenische Betreuung zahlreicher Gastspiele (Japan, China, Italien, Oman, etc.) und die Regie bei verliehenen Produktionen (Tokyo: „L‘ Italiana in Algeri“, „Don Giovanni“, Athen: „L‘ Italiana in Algeri“). Sie betreute auch das Fach „Szenisches Gestalten“ an der Opernschule.

Diana Kienast arbeitete mit vielen der bedeutendsten Regisseure wie z.B. Otto Schenk, Jean Pierre Ponnelle, Giorgio Strehler, Götz Friedrich, Ruth Berghaus, Pierre Luigi Pizzi, Johannes Schaaf, Alfred Kirchner, Peter Wood, Antoine Vitez, Istvan Szabo, Giancarlo Menotti, Ken Russell, Luca Ronconi, Harold Prince, Leopold Lindtberg, Jürgen Flimm, August Everding, u.a.m.; und Dirigenten wie z.B. Erich Leinsdorf, Ernst Märzendorfer, Christoph von Dohnany, Zubin Meta, Heinrich Hollreiser, Leopold Hager, Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Muti, Donald Runnicles, Bertrand de Billy, u.a.m.

Eigene Regiearbeiten an der Wiener Staatsoper

„Die Zauberflöte für Kinder“ 2003
Opernballeröffnung 2006
„Bastien und Bastienne“ 2006
Tag der Offenen Tür 2007

Sonstige Regiearbeiten

„The Fall Of The House Of Usher“, Wiener Kammeroper
„Die Hochzeit des Figaro”, Wiener Kammeroper
„Il Viaggio a Reims“, Berliner Philharmonie
„Die Fledermaus“ 2. Akt mit Gästen, Wiener Festwochen Eröffnung
„Die Fledermaus“, Staatsoper Temesvar
„Fledermaus Gala“, Accademia di Santa Cecilia, Rom
„Die Kinderzauberflöte”, San Francisco, Yokohama
„Die Zauberflöte”, Tel Aviv
„Die lustige Witwe“: Librettobearbeitungen, z.B. für den deutschen Fernsehsender mdr u.a.

Diana Kienast schied im November 2013 aus dem Dienst der Wiener Staatsoper und arbeitet seitdem  als freie Regisseurin, Lehrerin und Coach.

Trägerin des Goldenen Verdienstzeichens der Republik Österreich

Kritiken

L’italiana in Algeri (WA)

„[…] Nun muss man aber auch sagen, dass offenbar im Haus sehr gute Vorarbeit für Repertoire-Serien geleistet wird: Vier der sieben Darsteller interpretieren in Wien zum ersten Mal […] und alle sind in die Inszenierung so perfekt eingewiesen worden, dass diese nichts von ihrer gar nicht einfachen, körpersprachlich-komischen Struktur verloren hat: Vermutlich sollte man wieder einmal Diana Kienast als Abendspielleiterin loben, damit die Menschen „hinter den Kulissen“ wissen, dass man ihren Anteil am Gelingen eines solchen Abends kennt. […]“ – Der Neue Merker, Renate Wagner

Bastien und Bastienne 

„[…]Ein schnittiger Ami-Schlitten „fährt“ vor, Geschenk-Pakete kullern auf der Bühne herum, später werden hier Schafe hoppeln, Schmetterlinge flattern, Glitzerfische gleiten und Monster ihre Mäuler aufreißen – in der Neuinszenierung von Mozarts Singspiel „Bastien und Bastienne“ haben Diana Kienast (Regie) und Dietrich von Grebmer (Bühnenbild) mit Einfällen nicht gespart. […] Kienast gelingt die Verbindung von märchenhaften mit zeitgeistigen Elementen.“ – Die Presse

The Fall of the House of Usher

„[…], weil die Regisseurin Diana Kienast jeglichen erzählerischen Ballast abgeworfen hat, jede szenische Aktion –  […]wie ein Schattenspiel der Gefühle anlegt. Atmosphäre ist alles, Aktion nichts in diesem Gruselkabinett der Emotionen […] Diana Kienast hat sich ganz auf die wie bittersüßes Gift des Verderbens dem Orchestergraben entströmende Musik von Philip Glass eingelassen. Mit minimalen, gleichwohl intensiven Bildern hat sie den enervierenden Klang szenisch noch einmal verdoppelt. […]“ – Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Wolfgang Sandner, 08.10.1990

„[…] Die „studio K“-Produktion ist ein Wurf, bis ins letzte Detail volkommen gelungen. Regisseurin Diana Kienast sorgte für profunde Personenführung und durchgehende Spannung, vermeidet geschickt jeden billigen und reißerischen Effekt (Inzest) in diesem Schauermusiktheater. […] „The Fall of the House of Usher“ ist jedenfalls eine der gelungensten und geschlossensten „studio K“-Produktionen, die es je in der Kammeroper gab. […]“ – Wiener Zeitung, H.G. Pribil, 29.09.1990

Il viaggo a Reims

„[…] Diana Kienast führt dabei mit sparsamen Mitteln auf die liebevollste, graziöseste Art Weise Regie, und zwar ganz ausgezeichnet: locker, ohne jeden Anflug von inszenatorischer Wichtigtuerei, witzig und unterhaltsam. Das Publikum jedenfalls kocht vor Glück. So ehrt man Rossini auf die angemessenste Weise. […]“ – Berliner Morgenpost, Klaus Geitel, 16.10.1992

„[…] Aber hier stürzte sich eine Bedienerin auch auf den Cembalisten und küßte ihm subito und fortissimo die Stirne feucht, und dem Regieteam (Diana Kienast, Rolf Langenfass, John Burgess) gelang es tatsächlich, Solisten und den Rundfunkchor Berlin in jene Handgreiflichkeiten des Commedia dell’arte-Spiels einzustimmen, die den Abend immer wieder komsich belebten. […]“ – Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung – Wolfgang Burde

Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch und Spanisch

Für Anfragen bzgl. Regie, szenisches Gestalten, Coachings für Auditions, Dialog (Deutsch), Rezitative (Italienisch), Interpretation und Rollengestaltung, kontaktieren Sie bitte:

Fanny Jacobson, BA MAS
office@manocornuta.net